preparing for foster children

As my sister has wisely told me, no matter how much I prepare I will never be ready.

IMG_5586.JPG

Of course, it doesn’t stop me from trying.  If you know me, you know I love to be over-prepared which is extremely difficult with all the uncertainties ahead in the journey of a foster mom.  Along the way, it’s one of the many questions I get about the process and people start to think through what I have just said I plan to do.  So I thought I would share what I have done as I am finally getting placement calls and expecting a child any day.

As a single mother with no previous infants (only older stepchildren),  it was a small investment into fostering infants and toddlers.  But if you start early and hunt wisely, you can find some amazing deals.  Thankfully I was blessed with amazing mom friends and coworkers, who donated gently used items.

When I started researching the list of what I would need I found it overwhelming, but with the help of my sister and mom friends I figured out what I really needed versus all the things I could get.  You can of course wait until placement to buy many items, which I plan to do with things like clothes and food.  I will have the basics to get me through the first 48 hours and then purchase the child-specific items I might need.

Having had two nephews, I did have a couple of things already:

  • two pack-n-plays (one from my house and one from my parent’s house)
  • Chicco hook on high chair (but unfortunately won’t attach to my counter or round table)
  • some toddler toys previously for my nephews or friend’s kids
  • two twin beds (perfect for a 4 year old)

Here’s a list of things I purchased in advance knowing I was planning to accept children of either gender from age 0 to 4 years old (up to 2 children):

IMG_5584

  • convertible crib and mattress (with toddler conversion kit) – Craigslist
  • crib sheets and bedskirt (no bumper) – Restoration Hardware Outlet
  • changing table pad and cover – Walmart (used an old dresser to put it on)
  • diapers and pull ups (small package in every size) – Walmart
  • wipes and butt paste
  • training pants and underwear for toddlers – Walmart
  • toothbrushes and toothpaste for toddlers – Walmart
  • blankets and burp clothes – Marshalls
  • bottles, pacifiers, sippee cups, child utensils – Walmart, IKEA
  • playmat with mobile _ Once Upon a Child
  • children’s books – Once Upon a Child, Marshalls
  • PJs in every size – Costco, Kohls
  • Gender neutral clothing in a variety of sizes (enough to at least provide a change of clothes for any child 0 to 4 yo) – Old Navy, Marshalls, Once Upon a Child
  • Jars of baby food
  • Formula (premade packets that you don’t add anything to)
  • bibs
  • Evenflo convertible carseat – Costco
  • baby gates (required) – Amazon, Baby R Us, Target
  • babyproofing (cabinet locks, plug caps, etc) – Walmart
  • thermometer and First Aid kit (required) – Walmart
  • fire escape ladder (required) – Amazon
  • fire extinguisher (required) – Walmart
  • toys – Walmart, Once Upon a Child
  • Ergo Baby Carrier – Once Upon a Child
  • baby bath seat – Once Upon a Child
  • child stools – IKEA, Home Goods
  • food appropriate for children (cheerios, chicken fingers, fruit, veggies, yogurt, milk, rice cereal, etc) – Walmart
  • baby monitor – Once Upon a Child
  • rocking chair – IKEA ektorp chair with a rocker attachment from Amazon

 

Things I received as gifts or donations from friends, coworkers, and family (THANK YOU AGAIN!!):

IMG_5939

  • exersaucer
  • high chair
  • vibrating infant seat
  • bibs
  • Phil & Ted Double Stroller
  • kids toys
  • baby bedding and decor
  • books
  • baby car mirror
  • diaper bag
  • stuffed animals
  • potty training seats
  • car bottle warmer

 

I will let you know what totally slipped my mind and I wished I had thought of after my first placement 🙂  One of my best finds along the journey has been the Once Upon a Child children’s consignment shops.  They have amazing rewards and I was lucky enough to catch some $1 days and great clearance sales.

And finally, if you want to see the current baby room check out this post!

DSC_0248

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shirley Clark says:

    My son and dil did the same thing! Then they ended up getting a 4 yr. old boy in which they were later able to adopt. Wishing you the best! It’s a great program, and has saved a lot of kids.

    Like

  2. Jessica Hammonds says:

    I would love to see how the room has changed!

    Like

Leave a comment